We have started a new reward system at our house. We have tried lots of things in the past to help our kids do their jobs (and be happy about it)! These ideas have all worked great for awhile, but eventually lose their ability to motivate. We are back to the tried and true reward box, with a token system to act as payment and encouragement for a job well done. I also hand out tokens for other kind, helpful and loving behavior.

I started out by punching large circles out a few pages of shrinky dink plastic. I put my girls’ initials on them, so each child has their own set of tokens. My girls wanted to add more of their own distinctive designs, so they also made tokens to add to our supply. After designing our tokens, we punched a hole in each one, and baked to shrink. My oldest daughter made a bracelet for the charms she earns with memory wire. My other girls keep their charms in special tiny boxes.

I have a big box of prizes which can be redeemed with tokens. Each token represents around 25 cents, so I price the items in the box accordingly, using a strip of making tape. Items in the box range from 2 – 16 tokens.

I also made some coupons that go in the box, that have lots of fun rewards that can be exchanged for tokens, or  I may give one with a big hug to someone who has really done something wonderful – without asking for tokens as payment. I love how these tokens and coupons help me to focus on the positive!

I was inspired for the tokens and coupons here, and used a lot of her actual coupon wording. If you’d like to download my coupons, you can click here.

